Some people think that sports play an important role in society. Others think they are nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are divergent views as to the role of sports in current society. While some assert that they are merely a pastime activity, I would argue that sports play an essential role in boosting people ’s health and are irreplaceable. Proponents of sports as a trivial leisure activity point to their lower career prospects. Generally, the majority of the populace spent little time doing sports outside work or study. For them, doing sports is merely to burn some extra calories and refresh their mind to continue their work. Few people consider making a career in sports as this demands exceptional talents and huge investment from an early age. That is not to mention the risk of having their athletic career sabotaged due to unexpected injuries. As a result, most people simply consider sports as a leisure pursuit. However, I maintain that sports are more than just recreational activities. Although a professional sport is not meant for the vast majority, sports play a vital role in promoting (public health) and treating some diseases in society. Local sports competitions encourage people to be more physically active, developing a healthier lifestyle. Additionally, sports can be used as an indispensable therapy for many health issues. For example, swimming is prescribed for patients with chronic back pain as this sport is perfect for spine adjustment. In conclusion, some think that sports are only recreational activities as people normally practice sports in their spare time and they are less likely to develop a career in sports. Although this might be true for the mass, I believe that sports are important in public health enhancement and therapeutic treatment.