Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether children should be taught to compete or collaborate is a topic of debate. While some believe that a sense of competition should be instilled in children, I would argue that it is more crucial to educate children about the value of cooperation. Proponents of competition education point to the motivation it may create. When children learn how to compete, the urge to win and to be recognized can be translated into internal motivations that encourage them to try harder. This would help build a more positive learning environment where students would try to have better performance than their counterparts. For example, in many schools in Vietnam, rewards for top students in the class create competitions among them. As prizes are limited, students have to work more conscientiously to earn the compliment and an award. Therefore, motivation resulting from having a sense of competition can lead to improved performance. However, I maintain that learning how to work with others plays a more essential role in preparing students for the future workplace. Although competing can lead to personal achievements, in a wider context outside school, humans need to collaborate to solve complex tasks to accomplish shared goals that one human cannot manage. One salient example is shown in the processes of companies launching a new product into the market. These necessitate efforts from different divisions such as marketing, sales, and production. Even within one department, each person plays a small role in completing a single task. In working environments where children grow up to be adults, co-operating is paramount because it helps divide complicated tasks into smaller and manageable ones that can be handled by individuals. The completion of mini-tasks like these, overall, contributes to the success of a big goal shared by the whole company. In conclusion, although teaching children to compete is beneficial in terms of generating motivation, I hold the view that collaboration skills are of greater importance. These skills equip them to be more collaborative workers in the future working environment.