Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, people have a lot of chances to work or study abroad and it is definitely a problem to live in a country where you have to speak a foreign language. I strongly agree that language barriers can cause various serious social problems and I will discuss them in the following essay. Firstly, speaking the local language would help people to communicate with local residents. Communication not only helps to make friends but also expands their social life. In other words, it is difficult for people to blend into a group without saying their language properly. For example, at a public gathering, like a party, the one who cannot even understand a word of what others are talking about is extremely hard to participate in their conversation and this situation might make the person feel isolated and lonely. Secondly, it is undeniable that the inability to speak the local language may negatively affect one’s everyday activities in a foreign country. People might find it hard to buy things in a local market or access local transportation without knowing how to read or speak in their native language. For instance, when a person goes shopping and cannot explain the specific products which he wants so the seller may make a mistake and give him the wrong goods. Moreover, local residents might treat you better if you speak their language. Take France for example, it is well known that the majority of residents in French prefer to take you seriously if you speak in their language, although most of them understand if you speak in English, they might not give you a great attitude. In conclusion, I believe conversation skills with foreign languages contribute to creating close-knit relationships for communication and better life quality.