Some people believe that the country would benefit a lot from a large number of young people who enter into university; however, others think that the large number of people receiving the education of university only leads to graduate unemployment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Education has been regarded as one of the most important factors for the development of the society. There is a notion that a nation with a higher literacy rate among young people fares well in comparison to its counterparts. Although this notion is accepted by many people, critics argue that a high amount of people with a university degree only contribute to a mass graduate unemployment scenario. This essay analyses both views and presents its opinion. Proponents of stress that not only the young people who complete their higher studies do better in life individually but also highly literate people benefit the entire country. For example, someone who has completed a higher education will be less likely to commit a crime and motivate others to pursue the path of education. Furthermore, citizens acquiring higher educational qualifications at a young age also pass on the same teachings to their offspring, contributing to a better country in future. Therefore, knowledgeable young people commit fewer crimes, motivate others, and teach the same to their offspring, benefitting the country overall. Nevertheless, critics see universities as a money-making model and believe that skills required to succeed in life are excluded from a university curriculum. For instance, key life skills such as risk aptitude and resilience are not taught by professors in educational institutions. Thus, employers would not find the graduates suitable for the jobs, leading to a high unemployment rate. In my opinion, the merits of a university degree outweigh the demerits. The higher proportion of young citizens with more knowledge and educational degrees serves well for the countries since they are less likely to engage in criminal activities and will actively work to make society better. In conclusion, the literacy rate is seen as one of the critical factors for the development of any society. More young men and women pursuing university education will benefit the country by reducing crime and teaching their children to do the same. However, if they lack basic life skills, they will not be seen as a viable option for employers which might lead to graduate unemployment. Despite the demerits, the impact of increased education within younger society seems to be positive for the overall nation and society.