Due to increase use of aeroplane, air pollution is increasing more and more airports are constructed. Some people say that government should reduce air traffic by taxing it heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

The need to move across locations in the quickest time possible has resulted in a surge in the demand for air travel, and the construction of more airports, however, this has increased the pollution of the atmosphere. Some people think the government should reduce air traffic by introducing a high tax policy. I do not accept this as a suitable solution and will elaborate below. On the one hand, some suggest that heavy taxation on aviation is the best approach to reducing air traffic. This tax reflects on the price of flight tickets, pushing it beyond the reach of some expected users, forcing down the number of available passengers, hence, a fewer number of aeroplanes will enter the airway daily. For example in Nigeria, a flight from Owerri to Abuja cost about #70,000 and Air Peace; an aviation company often has 3 flights daily leaving for Abuja from Owerri. If this rises to #150,000 due to tax, the number of people able to pay this fare will drop, thereby reducing the number of flight schedules. On the other hand, increased tax on flying will increase the operation cost for the aviation players while reducing the Percentage of travellers who can afford their services, putting them at risk of running out of business. For instance, taxation that increases the ticket from Owerri to Abuja to #150,000 from #70,000 and reduces the air traffic, does not compensate for other operations cost as staff salary, and facility maintenance which the company has to cover. In conclusion, no doubt aviation has contributed to polluting the environment while trying to ease the problem of logistics, but heavy taxation on the system will be insensitive, and only create more harm than it hoped to amend.