Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays most students prefer long-distance education in colleges and universities. This essay will discuss that although studying away from home makes children independent, I believe the disadvantages exceed the advantages because of the loneliness and depression students face. The main reason children choose to pursue their higher education in faraway institutes is that they could live a life on their terms which eventually would turn them into independent individuals. This is because they have to manage everything by themselves and take decisions from their perspective such as paying their tuition fees, rent, and utilities. For example, it can be commonly seen that overseas students tend to become independent as they strive to balance their work and academic life, which is a sign of independence. However, I believe that loneliness and depression outweigh the benefit of being independent. The disadvantage is that living alone away from family members makes students feel lonely and depressed. The reason is that they have no one to share their feelings and burden of challenges they face like cooking their meals and tackling their sickness, which leads to depression and in severe cases, a chance of suicide. For instance, the depression rate, in contemporary times, is reported to be the highest among students living far from their families. As being independent is a good quality to learn, I think that being alive and happy is far more imperative. In conclusion, student's decision to study away from home could help them to be independent but disadvantages of negative health implications far outweigh the advantages.