Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Every learner, during his academic pathway, has to deal with assignments and in-class exams. In these last few years, there has been a wide debate about the efficiency of continual assessment. However, it is disagreed that only formal examinations, during the course, are useful to verify the pupils’ performance. This essay analyses the capability of non-formal examinations such as presentations and projects to keep students’ minds trained for the duration of the course, as well as their utility to show at which level the students are. Firstly, the main use of continuous marking is to maintain the tutees’ knowledge. Indeed, for this reason, teachers advise students not to study the day before the exam, but practise and study day by day through exercises. With this approach, they will remember the knowledge better. In fact, recent studies have shown how, for humanities subjects, children that do formative assessment can have better marks than those who don’t do them. This happens because projects, presentations and coursework provide learners’ knowledge differently from formal examinations, where pupils have to test their understanding under pressure and stress. Consequently, this method is extremely important to get better results. Secondly, coursework and projects are exercises of verification, useful for teachers that can have a deeper understanding on how much the class has learnt. Moreover, they are helpful also for the students because through assignments they can keep track of their improvements, assessing if their performance is increasing or not. For instance, it is very important for mathematical subjects to practise frequently at home because the basis of the exercises is always the same. Thus, if tutees train a lot at home, understanding at which level of preparation they have, they will focus more on where they have weaknesses. Furthermore, continuous grading is a relevant tool also for the mentors, to come up with solutions, if they don’t notice improvements in their pupils, such as adapting their style of transmitting knowledge or giving individual feedback and advice. To conclude, we cannot state that only the in-class exams are an effective way to verify the grade of performance because also the continual assessments are important to keep track of and show teachers and learners their level of preparation. Hence, it is suggested to mark the pupils to have a mutual and clear vision of which is the performance level inside classrooms.