‘Children who have brothers and sisters often have better social development than an only child. The government should therefore give money to parents to have two or more children.’ What do you think about this proposal?

Having siblings has a more positive effect on children than living alone without brothers and sisters to play with, as this enhances the child's social skills which are essential to their growth and development. This led the government to financially aid parents to encourage and allows them to have additional children. Personally, I believe that the proposal made people rethink their options since having an additional child is a personal choice and should not be a form of bribery. On one hand, growing up with more sibling contribute to the development of the social skill of one's child. While living alone as an only child leads to undeveloped social skills, which means can lead to social isolation in the future. However, this is not the case for all since a child, who is exposed to school and friends, has as well developed social skills. Hence playing and having friends around at school is a strong form of socialization. On the other hand, providing money to parents to encourage them to birth another child is intrusive. As I believed that having an additional child is a choice that only couples are responsible for. However,the acts ensuing money deterring and crossing personal boundaries. On the contrary to the parents who wish to have more, children this would benefit them more. In Singapore, for instance, the government works hand in hand with parents who want more children by incentivising and subsidising education and health for the next baby in the family, which is good as this promotes welfare for its people. In conclusion, it is advantageous to have more siblings as this ensures a well develop social skills, which is essential to a child's growth and development, while it does not make less for a child living alone as long as they are exposed to the environment and not prevented to socialize. Albeit, I would argue that it is good for the government to provide money to wanting parents but not the point of pushing them to produce one, since pregnancy is a choice that should be decided by the couple.