Goverments should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often held that the state is tasked to keep its residents accountable for maintaining their surroundings. I am one of those who partially agree with these, as it is not only the task of the residents of a certain locality but the union has taken on these as well. However, people need to follow the instruction on regulations made by the authority. Oftentimes, it is right that the state is letting the locals be responsible for keeping their surroundings. These way people are more conscientious of the ways they deal with their waste. Recycling is only one way to keep the habitat clean and tidy; like reusing plastic bottles or glass that are not decomposing easily. Regardless, these acts should be regulated by the authority and there should be designated areas where recyclable materials should be thrown afterwards. On the other hand, keeping the habitat clean is really tough. There are various reasons for this, such as the garbage produced daily by individual households is increasing due to the high volume of plastic materials used in groceries or other departments that are most of the time used in day-to-day living. The waste that's collected is being thrown in places designated by the government which citizens cannot control. Still, people can still take part by recycling or segregating their waste before being collected. In conclusion, politics and its citizen should work hand in hand to keep the habitat clean as much as possible. This way nobody is to blame and everyone can benefit from the cleanliness.