Some people argue that the government should give every unemployed person a mobile phone and should make sure they have access to the Internet. They believe this is the best way of using public money to reduce the problem of unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals insist that all residents without a job should get a mobile phone provided by the government to be able to use the Internet, because they think that this is the ideal method to deal with the unemployment issue. I strongly disagree with this statement, because of the enormous amount of outlays for phones and the difficulty of use for elderly people. First, giving smartphones to all the jobless people is not realistic, because it can cost a large amount of money to prepare, which may lead to more debt. This might also become less compatible than other ways. To illustrate this, according to statistics of smartphone prices conducted by Apple Inc., the average price is about 500 dollars, meaning if a nation has 100,000 people without a job, that would cost 50 million dollars to solve the issue, which might be unrealistic and have a negative impact on the governmental finances. In addition, using smartphones often requires an adequate amount of knowledge about the gadgets, and this is generally more challenging for individuals, such as the elderly, who are not good at using them. Especially in Japan, as known for being an ageing society, 70% of citizens over 60 live by themselves and have few people to ask how to use a phone. As a consequence, they might end up using it to look for a job. To sum up, there is an argument that every jobless citizen should have a phone which is given by the government so that they can access the Internet, as it is believed that the unemployment problem would be solved in this way. I completely disagree with this viewpoint, with the reason being that it costs significantly to provide phones, and it is difficult for senior generations to use phones appropriately.