Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting serve for children as they get older?

In this contemporary era, many young generations imitate the behaviour and fashion of celebrities. This essay will discuss how self-esteem could be the reason for this action as well as how this can lead to criminal activities with relevant examples and logical conclusions. The main reason youngsters imitate the renowned personality is that they want to boost their self-esteem. Apparently, youths love to keep up with new trends formed by the celebrity they adore by increasing their popularity among friends and acquaintances since they mimic famous artists. More so, youths look up to them as someone they can model upon for icons of success. As celebrities' lives get more exposure on social media, youths are increasingly bombarded with the glamorous lifestyles of the rich and famous, this increases their likelihood of being obsessed with fame and fortune. For instance, a 300l student of polytechnic copied the lifestyle of his favourite artist by purchasing his type of custom and even went the extra mile to buy the exact automobile like his role model. Hence he developed a positive feeling about himself. However, the major challenge it can cause is increased criminal activities. To explain further, most young generations get involved in atrocities like cyberbullying, theft, as well as drug abuse to mention a few to behave in the same manner as their favourite celebrity. Cybercrimes are rampant nowadays among the young generations, they dupe people on the intranet to get money for unnecessary customs like their model. Moreso, youth get addicted to drugs and even abuse them because they want to do like famous public. For example, a 20-year-old boy was arrested by a policeman because he participated in fraudulent activity and he was sentenced to jail. As a result, mimicking a celebrity's behaviour has a negative influence on young adults. In conclusion, youngsters mimic the lifestyle and outlook of well know individuals nowadays due to the fact, they have self-respect and as a result, they engaged in cybercrime which has a negative effect on their life.