Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does the plastic do to the environment? What can be done by the government and individuals to solve this problem?

Non-biodegradable materials cause negative effects on the environment and ecosystem at large. This has caused a lot of drainage blockage which has resulted in floods in the environment and pollution of the water. These damages can be controlled by the individuals through the use of the appropriate waste bins and ensuring that these non-decomposable items are disposed of correctly. Also, Government can set policies against the use of plastics in any form while the use of biodegradable materials is encouraged. Furthermore, the drainages in the communities get blocked as a result of disposed plastics. This has made the road flooded with water and plastics, thereby damaging the road and polluting the environment. Because they cannot decompose, they flow into the river and pollute the water and the aquatic animals like the fish. A recent study shows that fish are dying more because of the plastic they consume thinking it is edible. Moreover, when the water is polluted it becomes difficult for individuals to use. In addition, these problems can be resolved by the involvement of individuals throwing away non-biodegradable materials appropriately so that they can be recycled. Individuals should ensure they separate their waste before disposing them. The government can also resolve this by creating policies to restrict the use of materials that cannot decompose. These regulations would enable people to be more conscious of how they dispose of every waste and ensure it is disposed of correctly. They can be implemented by creating incentives around them. For instance, africa there is a reward for an individual who presents a particular number of plastic to the government. In conclusion, the environment is affected negatively by the use of Plastics materials and this results in floods and pollution of the environment and water which can be resolved by the proper disposal of these materials by individuals and the creation of more awareness and policies by the government.