In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In our modern era, companies consider good advertisements to be a critical part of a successful enterprise where, in their advertising, they often indicate the new features available in their products to grab clients’ attention. This is mainly to make high profit and be well ahead of other businesses in their niche; however, I firmly believe that it is a negative development due to the firm focusing on money other than customer needs, as well as, products being identical with minor new features. To start with, it is an undeniable fact that the main goal of the corporation is to acquire more money to ensure the thriving of the business and the only way to make their products reachable to the consumers is through advertisements. Moreover, they show customers that they are always searching for new updates and are up to date with the latest technology. For instance, shortly after Apple announced their new smartphone design back in 2005, Samsung copied the same idea and presented its product to the public in 2009. Most of the time, companies change very few features in their products exclusively to advertise and sell them. For example, the only updates that Apple made in their iPhone 13 Pro when compared to iPhone 12 Pro, are higher battery life and capacity. Furthermore, some firms have all their merchandise identical to each other which eventually damages their reputation. Air pods made by Apple are a prime example where all the ones produced by the company are roughly the same with minor changes. In conclusion, although it is crucial that firms ought to be continuously looking for improvements to their goods, I sincerely think that it is an adverse development to advertise products with minor upgrades. They should always ensure that they develop a unique idea to advertise it to the world.