In many workplaces, online communication is becoming more commonplace than face-to-face meetings. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Real-time video and audio translation applications are conquering the market at a rapid speed. They have become a convenient tool for chatting with friends or talking to relatives abroad. However, I would argue that distance conversation technologies have not yet evolved enough to be broadly employed by businesses, and face-to-face meetings are still the most relevant form of conversation in workplaces. Some companies today are partially shifting to online communication, especially when negotiating with foreign partners or stakeholders situated far away. Although it seems to be a practical way of carrying out meetings, online conversation has some downsides, preventing it from being massively employed. First of all, existing solutions for distance translation are not sufficiently developed to support high-quality communication. Real-time video and audio applications rely heavily on internet speed and numerous hardware components such as speakers, monitors, etc. Ensuring the high quality of all these factors is not the most affordable approach for companies. Reliability is another factor preventing the mass usage of distance translation technologies. Recent history had witnessed countless situations when businesses leaked a piece of sensitive information as a result of high reliance on digital technologies. For example, the Marvel film-producing company has got stolen one of its unrevealed movies as a result of a virus attack from an anonymous organisation. In the same way, companies using video or audio chat applications are heavily subject to being spied on. Therefore, as long as there is no ultimate protection from malware and viruses, workplaces will continuously give preference to traditional, face-to-face meetings. In a nutshell, online communication indeed bares numerous advantages to organisations regarding time efficiency and finance. But I think it remains unpopular within workplaces because of its unreliability and high maintenance cost.