It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages o f taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Accepting challenges could be an essential factor for a person when considering work-related and self-related aspects of life. In according to achieve something we may always have to risk another thing in return. It can be either an object or a person or even a memory. The reward and the risk will increase or decrease as alternative variables. In my opinion, risks that aimed achievement got their own benefits than its shortcomings. Facing a challenge at working place can be terrifying, especially if you are left alone to deal with it by yourself. As an example, I heard the news of a restaurant manager who got beaten by a customer defending his employees recently. He had taken the risk knowing its consequences. The outcome was definitely not a positive one, as he was hospitalized after the incident. Therefore we always have to think twice and be cautious prior to involve in such situations. We have to keep reminding ourselves that, our own life is much more important than any job in the world. In addition, we’ve seen many success stories of well-renowned people that took a surprising turn in their professional life. The founder of Odel, Otara Gunawardena started her clothing brand in the back of her minivan with a budget of a few rupees. She was a biological science graduate at the time and she was risking it all simply to open up her own business. A few years later she became one of the top notched businesswomen in Sri Lanka. Most of the time we rely on other’s comments and thoughts about our own lives. I believe making your own decisions about getting married, having children and moving abroad etc is way more preferred since these outsiders won’t be helping you then. It happens to be you, that should manage and survive through all of this. In conclusion, I think going through a challenging situation is beneficial if the result is an overwhelming one. However, we have to think deeply and sort out the priorities in according to achieve the best result.