In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

There is an increase in the usage of performance-enhancement drugs by professional athletes across various sports. This development has occurred because of the drug's easy access and fatigue caused by playing more games. The possible solutions to this are fewer games and severe punishments. One of the causes is that these banned substances are easily available in the market for athletes to buy, even without prescriptions, thereby causing their usage to rise. Another cause of this scenario is the increase in number of games the athletes have to play. As a result, the need to stay fit and recover in time also increases. Because banned substances like steroids help in this quick recovery, professional players use them. For example, Paul Pogba, a famous Manchester United footballer, confessed in an interview that the reason he used to take steroids before matches was to keep performing regularly at the highest level, otherwise Manchester United would have sold him. One of the solutions to these problems is, obviously, fewer matches. If athletes do not have to play more than twice a week, then they can receive adequate rest and recover on their own, thereby reducing the need to take the drugs. Another solution is to make the punishment for doping very severe. If sports professionals understand that the usage of illegal drugs for boosting performance comes at a cost of a negative impact on their careers, it will discourage them from consuming. For instance, FIFA introduced a rule to ban footballers for a couple of years, if caught in a doping test. This was followed by a significant decrease in reports of failed doping tests before football matches. In conclusion, the pressure to perform at the top level, and easy access to banned drugs causes athletes to consume them. However, this can be solved by reducing the number of games and increasing the severity of the punishments.