Some people say that music is an effective way of bringing people from different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree?

Many people believe that music is a useful tool to explore other cultures and make relations between populations of different ages. In my opinion, I completely agree with this statement and I believe that music is crucial for the development of connections between cultures thanks to its short format and that states bridge across generations due to its emotional implications. Nowadays, millions of songs are reproduced around the world every day and their short length is really helpful to divulge about different cultures. In only a song, a historical battle could be developed, and a special date of the country could be explained, using interesting features such as rhythm, instruments, lyrics or ambient sound. For example, there are many songs about the year when Spain won the world football cup. In addition, songs bring society similar emotions which makes the connection between them easier, sharing the same feelings when they are singing the song. Moreover, music is an effective art for bringing populations of different ages together, because of the heritage that elderly people give to children. When grandparents share their favourite songs with their grandchildren, they are sharing their memories and, at the same time, children are increasing bonds with their relatives. For instance, many peoples’ favourite songs are related to a special person that introduced them to the song and that evoque a strong feeling such as melancholy or happiness. To conclude, I support that music is an incredible format to share and divulge cultures and bring people of different ages together due to its short length and its emotional implications. If governments increase the funding for music lessons at schools, many students would develop solid emotional intelligence.