Some people decide to start their own business instead of working for a company or organization. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some individuals choose to be entrepreneurs rather than being employees in a corporation. While developing a self-owned business allows them to be flexibly paving their careers, this essay thinks that it possesses a great risk of failure. On the one hand, individuals who have clear visions to become entrepreneurs are able to freely navigate their own career path. Hence, they have the flexibility to develop their innovation as products that they can sell to the public. They will not be constrained by company rules and they can independently decide the best measures for their business. For example, the digital innovation unit in a traditional corporation in Indonesia faces difficulties in developing further features of its digital apps owing to the complex bureaucracy within the company and stakeholders’ conflicting interests. On the other hand, leading a business and striving for success is a challenging journey because of the risk of failing. Owners should have a clear goal and solid target markets to win customers in the competitive markets. This process requires grit and perseverance to navigate the upcoming hurdles. If the products do not successfully attract customers, they have to iterate and pour more funding to introduce better products. For instance, many local skincare brands in Indonesia are closing down owing to the hypercompetitive markets and the generated revenues cannot keep up with the mounting costs. This essay thinks that starting and running a self-owned firm has a risky prospect and this outweighs the benefit of having one. In conclusion, even though being self-employed allows individuals to flexibly pave their career path, this essay believes that it has a greater risk of failure because of the challenging environment.