Many people believe that social networking sites(Such as Facebook) have had huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Social media is becoming increasingly popular. Some people argue that social media platforms have had a detrimental effect on individuals as well as society and local communities. This essay will discuss that social networking sites are mainly beneficial for individuals, while they have had a damaging effect on local communities. Before the development of technology and social networking sites, individuals rarely had the chance to meet or communicate with anyone outside their immediate circle and local community, whereas now they can communicate with anyone regardless of geographical boundaries. Additionally, these online platforms have social groups as well which offer individuals a chance to meet and participate in discussion with people who share a common interest. For instance, Facebook is one of the most popular social media sites that is being used by individuals across the world to communicate. Online platforms are playing a major role in bringing people together from different geographies. On the other hand, the effect social networking sites have had on society and the local communities can only be seen as negative. Rather than human beings taking part in their local community, they are instead choosing to take more interest in people online. Consequently, people in the local community are no longer forming close or supportive relationships. Furthermore, society as a whole becoming increasingly disjointed and fragmented as people spend more time online with people they have never met face to face and who they are unlikely to ever meet in future. To conclude, although social media have brought individuals closer together, they have not had the same effect on society or local communities.