Nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time being active or creative. What is the reason for this? What measures should be taken to encourage children to be more active?

These days, many kids spend a lot of time watching television compared to the past. Moreover, they are not familiar with doing outdoor activities or exercises. I will discuss why this is happening and suggest what solutions should be taken to encourage children to go out in order to do a lot of activities. The main cause of this phenomenon is that nowadays, a majority of parents work hard. So, they do not have enough time to take care of their kids at home. Since they spend hectic life, they usually feel exhausted after working and just let their children watch television instead of doing activities together. It eventually leads children to watch television all the time in the household. In a survey conducted by Seoul National University, 65% of parents who have kids responded that they allow children to watch television at home for over 3 hours because of their work and tiredness. This means that children do not have a chance to work out or do activities with their parents. Finally, It makes kids spend their time watching television. However, there are solutions to rectify this problem. One of the ways to deal with this issue is that the governments can establish a child-care system like an After-School in modern society. If children go there, they can make new friends and do numerous activities such as playing instruments, doing sports, and even dancing. From my experience, when I was young since my parents were extremely busy, they did not have time to do activities with me. Nevertheless, I could do plenty of activities with my friends in the After-School. In South Korea, we had well-maintained child-care systems. So, my parents could take me to the school. This indicates that if the governments set up child-care systems, it will help parents to take their kids and play an important role in developing children's activities. To sum up, it is true that a lot of children just stay home and watch TV shows because of their busy parents. However, this problem can be resolved by establishing child-care systems in our society.