Some children spend hours every day on their smartphone Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development.

Nowadays, many youngsters use most of their time on digital devices. This is because social media present them with captivating content and parents use it to distract their kids. In my opinion, this is a negative development as it affects their mental health results in other health issues. On the one hand, social platforms algorithm is extremely good at providing users with contents that hold their attention. This is made possible through the use of machine learning that monitors consumers search history and engagements and then offer varities of related feeds. Since most teenagers lack self-control, they cannot resist the urge to go through all the posts and therefore waste too much time scrolling through each page and watching such videos. In addition, most parents give their children mobile phones to watch their favorite cartoons and television series so that they can use such time either to rest or engage in important activities within the home without being distracted by their kids. However, spending too much time on the phone can affect teenagers mental health as perfectly filtered pictures and staged videos on the internet can cause create an unrealistic world for themselves and most times makes them doubt who they really are. After watching too much of their favorite celebrities lifestyle on Instagram, many young folks tend to worry about their physical attractiveness and some perform numerous surgeries just to keep up with the trend and this can sometimes lead to depression especially if the financial cost of living such lives is above the means of the young individual and their guardiands. Moreover, research has shown that the rays emiited from the screen of phones are dangerous to the health, especially for those who spend long hours manipulating such device, it can result in eyes conditions such as myopia and warrants the use of medicated lenses for the rest of one's life. Furthermore, the emitted rays can also affect the sleep pattern of toddlers as it causes a reduction in the release of sleep hormones. In conclusion, some young individuals spend a large amount of time on their phones every day because social media constantly present them with contents that are designed to keep their attention and parents use it as a distraction for their children. Sadly, this can have a toll on their mental health and result in other health menaces.