A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems can this cause? How might these problems be reduced?

Over the past few decades, technological advancement has significantly improved the standard of living for people. However, unfortunately, the majority of this improvement is confined within cities and the rural areas are still undeveloped. In this essay, we will discuss the possible issues this can create and some potential solutions. The mammoth urbanization of cities and ignorance of the villages will lead to an imbalance within the country. Whereby, the population in the cities will benefit from the latest technologies, healthcare, education and transportation means, and the people from the rural area will be spending difficult lives without any luxuries. This might fuel the feelings of inferiority complex within the rural population, and consequently might become a reason for their emotional and mental turmoil. Thus the productivity from the rural side would be reduced, having a detrimental impact on the country's economy. In order to address this issue, governments and local bodies should devise a carefully-thought plan to keep a balance between cities and villages. The benefits provisioned to the people living in the urban areas should also be available to the village folks. They should have equal rights to medical facilities, education and other luxuries enjoyed by the city people. This will instil a sense of belonging in the people from the countryside. They will be contented with their lives and naturally their productivity will improve, contributing positively to the country's economy. To recapitulate, it is undeniable that cities have been the main focus for modernization and villages have been ignored in this regard. Adequate steps need to be taken to bridge these differences for the betterment of the people.