Due to the severe repercussions of eating fast food on a daily basis, some people think that the only way to prevent this is to ban fast food. Do you agree or disagree with the statement? 59m 10s 13s

These days, excessive consumption of fast food is becoming a major public concern. A number of individuals claim that radical measures should be taken, such as imposing restrictions on this business. I firmly believe that fast food must be banned in order to encourage people to lead a healthy lifestyle, as well as create healthier competition in the food industry and support local restaurants. To begin with, it could be argued that the intake of fast- food leads to health problems. This is mainly because fast food is high in sugar and fat and contains many artificial additives which provoke various eating disorders and cause addiction. For these reasons, eating a poor diet is linked to obesity, diabetes, heart disease, allergic reactions and even cancer. For instance, a recent study by the University of Toronto has provided scientific evidence that having fast food more than once a week increases the risk of cancer by five per cent. Therefore, if fast food restaurants were closed, people would follow a balanced diet and become healthier. Additionally, restrictions on fast food will likely foster the development of small businesses, because local and unique restaurants cannot compete with fast food franchises on prices. The prime reason is that franchises such as McDonalds have a sustainable, widespread supply chain and can achieve lower costs for their restaurants which results in unfair competition. For example, several authentic and traditional restaurants filed for bankruptcy after Mcdonald's had been opened in Moscow during the 1990s. Although fast food is cheaper, I would argue that having diversified cuisine will give individuals a chance to experience new flavours and choose new eating habits. To conclude, fast food leads to long-term health problems and creates unfair market competition. I hold the view that restrictions on this industry will improve the health of the nation and support small businesses.