Some people think the only purpose of prison is to punish crime. Others think it has other functions. Discuss the two views and give your opinion.

Prisons are thought to serve only for the punishment of criminals. However, I am convinced that jail has other purposes such as rehabilitation and public safety. It is thought that the sole aim of prisons is depriving of criminals their freedom. Thus, some people claim that prisons should not be comfortable and welcoming places. They argue that the experience of being incarcerated should be unpleasant and even traumatic, to serve as a punishment for their bad actions and as a form of justice for victims of crime. As a result, once suffered upon sentence, individuals who committed crimes feel guilty and regretful and this makes them law-abiding citizens, let alone discourage them from repeating their inappropriate actions. However, by looking at the different perspectives, there are other functions of prisoning for criminals. Firstly, it is clear that prisons serve as a place for rehabilitation. In some cases, prisons provide education and job training. Therefore, they are claimed to help offenders to re-enter society as a productive citizen. Moreover, prisons provide public safety and the government uses them to protect the public from dangerous offenders. When violent and dangerous criminals are removed from society, they are prevented to commit further crimes. Consequently, these have vital functions to lessen the rate of committing crimes in society and informing other segments of the population of the feasible repercussions of crimes. In conclusion, although some people argue that prisons serve as a punishment for committing crimes, there are other purposes of prisoning criminals aimed at providing appropriate citizens to the community and saving the public from dangerous offenders. As a result, these lead to the reduction of crimes in public.