social media has compeletly changed the way family and friends communicate with each other. what are the reasons for this? is it a positive or negative development ?

Social media has become a paramount platform to reunion everyone together which included family members in this modern era. It is often argued that the highly usage of social media are caused by several reasons and will lead to a negative impact in this society. However, as to whether it is a blessing or curse, there arises a heated debate among people. As far I’m concerned, people always love using social media because it is convenient and user-friendly but in the long-term view it actually carries the potential to create health concerns in the society. Firstly, over 90% of Malaysian using social media platforms as the main communication key. This fortifies a fact that older folks have no other options but to accept the adaption of new-norm in order to continuously have a conversation with their grandsons. Secondly, the functions by the social media have actually superseded the traditional messaging system and without charging a single cent on it. For this reason, I think it is understandable a fact that why social media has received a higher numbers of user compared to the traditional one. Unfortunately, people tends to create a stronger addiction towards social media. For example, Apple has recently released the average screen time on social media by teenagers are 8 hours daily. Another critic is that teenagers spent large amount of time on virtual conversations rather than physical one will soon find out the difficulty to communicate in the reality, which we known it as isolation. Moving forward, researchers have also proved that the development of technology has caused the risen of cataract issues in the society due to sustain of glaring on the screen will actually cause detrimental to the eyes. In conclusion, according to the examples and argument given, I personally agree that convenient increases the usage of social media but the drawbacks shouldn’t be denied such as cataract and psychological issues.