In the future, all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think that the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

The concept of autonomous vehicles has been around for several years, with many scientists launching numerous research and experiments to bring it into reality. While some people are concerned with the reliability issues of contemporary prototypes of such vehicles, I would argue that the autonomous vehicles of the future will potentially offer a wide array of benefits. Throughout recent years, scientists made several attempts to launch driverless cars onto public roads. Although some of the experiments demonstrated initial success, they all were completed with failure in one way or another, eventually. For example, one of the latest prototypes of autonomous cars, produced by the Tesla company, Model 3, successfully navigates the excellent roads of California, but when tested under unideal circumstances, it fails on different sections of roads. Science has just not evolved to the degree where driverless vehicles can be completely relied upon. However, what if the future presents more advanced and robust transportation, operating without human intervention? One of the most significant contributions of such development would be to road safety. The total elimination of drunk, unconscious, sick and immature drivers would significantly improve road safety since a human factor is a primary reason for car accidents. Furthermore, driverless cars do not require adult input for steering. This will free parents from the burden of dropping children at their schools or kindergarten, while also giving former drivers an opportunity to enjoy reduced levels of stress. In a nutshell, even though setting up self-operating cars, trucks, and buses requires substantial effort, such as improving road quality and ensuring the reliability of vehicles, the result of this development will be far superior to the current transportation system.