in their advertising, businesses nowdays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. why is this? do you think is a positive or negative development?

It is often argued that these days business owners are marketing their old products as something unique. In my opinion, this is mainly to promote their work, however it might be advantageous for the people in the trade, but a negative development for the consumers. On one hand, advertising the same items differently helps traders to increase their revenue, if their trade is not making the same profit it used to in the past. Furthermore, it can help them to increase the prices of that item. For instance, it was reported in an article that many cosmetic brands increase prices of the makeup goods by just changing the labels and packaging. As a result, women are attracted towards buying them. Hence, generating a great deal of money on the already existing formula. On the other hand, the use of these shady marketing tactics sometimes damages the trust of the customers, as they are bluffed into buying products that they might already own. Moreover, in this growing inflation no one wants to spend their income on goods they have purchased already. Consequently, these tricks affect the reputation of the brands. For example, if a buyer has become aware of the monopoly of a business, he is going to spread the bad word about it, which will affect sales eventually. In conclusion, these strategies might aid to boost work temporarily, but in the long,term it is just a cheap tactic, which is likely to backfire, as technology has made people smarter than they used to be in the past.