Some people say that international car-free days are effective way of reducing air pollution. Other people say that there are more effective ways of doing this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, a great number of people believe that avoiding using cars some days all over the world could help to decrease the rate of air pollution significantly, while others are convinced that there are much more efficient ways to deal with this problem. To begin with, refusing to use vehicles could have benefits in terms of solving environmental problems. Firstly, it would lessen pollution levels because exhaust fumes from cars essentially affect the environment. Even one day without them would dramatically decrease their percentage in the air. Secondly, car-free days would give nature huge chances for recovery. Finally, if we had to live without cars even for one day, we could find thousands of opportunities to organise our lives without them and build that habit. On the other hand, those who affirm that there are other ways that could bring much better results are also right. The first way is by forcing factories and major manufacturers to reduce their input into air pollution through unbearable taxes and fees. Another way is by prohibiting the destruction of forests and plants and encouraging the creation of new forests by planting new trees. Additionally, in the modern, speedy world, we cannot live without quick means of transportation. Therefore, it would be much more beneficial to use environmentally friendly vehicles powered by electricity. In conclusion, although reducing the use of vehicles some days could be advantageous to some extent, we should not forget about other ways like reforestation and taxation of big factories or manufacturers because these could multiply the benefits of environmentally friendly policies.