NEWS STORIES ON TV AND IN NEWSPAPER ARE VERY OFTEN ACCOMPANIED BY PICTURES. SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT THESE PICTURES ARE MORE EFFECTIVE THAN WORDS. DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE AND GIVE YOUR OPINION?

In the digital age, the emergence of images plays a crucial role in any journalistic product in both TV and newspapers. It is believed by many that pictures accompanying text will help the public to get the message easier. I do agree with such a notion and will explain it further in this essay. In the first stage, we have to acknowledge the importance of the picture. According to an expert on visual culture, John Alaika, words are not as effortless as images to understand and may be boring for some people. "Not everyone can read,” said Alaika. “But people are most likely able to recognize images." That is why cartoon series are more acceptable than news programs on TV as the medium of communication, as well as creatively way to amuse the public. Moreover, the presence of images on any news both in TV and in newspapers will assist audiences to construct the realities. For example, common people may get confused and not be interested enough when reading an article about “the damaging impact of climate change for human beings” without an illustration that precisely describes it. In contrast, if the public is approached by a sketch illustrating “Earth getting sick”, they may handily come to realise how to nurture our nature to prevent climate change. In conclusion, it is clear that illustrations or pictures emerging together with new stories on TV or newspapers have enormous power to influence people to engage with the issues talking about. And, I recommend that journalists should be aware about the significance of visual culture like presenting pictures in any media coverage.