Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment .why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Punishing has become an absolutely difficult task for governments as criminals noticeably commit the same past mistakes after serving their first punishment period. Firstly, this group of individuals are taken to prisons, which can be considered the worse environment in the world, and, normally, they will not find a job afterwards. Moreover, the most considered solutions to these problems are infrastructure improvement and the creation of new solid recovery policies. First and foremost, when offenders go to prison, which is the most common sanction worldwide, they instantaneously face a precarious and dangerous environment with aggression and a lack of infrastructure. Furthermore, individuals cannot recover themselves on such sites, and companies avoid hiring ex-prisoners because they think it is unsafe. For example, I had visited many prisons before my university graduation and decided to write my final project on this topic as I realized the horrible environments these sites provide to people. To summarize, prisons have not demonstrated to be a solution for offenders’ recovery, so revitalization of punishment areas and strong governmental policies must be considered. Having said that, the infrastructure of prisons should be modernized to provide prisoners with outstanding recovery opportunities. Governments must invest to develop strong policies, so these individuals are motivated to attend university and work on social services while serving their punishment time. For instance, I have also visited the most modern prison in my country where prisoners are able to take university degrees and do some voluntary work, and the last research done there showed that 70% can find a new job after serving their sanctions. Therefore, if criminals had had better conditions while in jail, they would have been able to recover and develop skills to find new jobs. In conclusion, many offenders repeat their crimes because the most common sanction type is incapable to offer recovery opportunities. Although many people believe that criminals should not have a second chance, it has been proved that strong governmental policies and infrastructure in prison can prevent them to commit new crimes.