Many countries consider eighteen-year-olds to be adults, while other countries don’t. What do you think about it? Give your opinion and some relevant examples based on your own experience.

While many countries evaluate that eighteen-year-old people are already adults, other countries do not share the same idea. I am of the opinion that eighteen-year-old people have the maturity enough to be considered adults because they passed the teenage phase, most of them have a job, girlfriend/boyfriend, may have a car or whatever and know what is wrong and right. In many cultures turning eighteen years old is an important event where the person is finally considered an adult and owner of their own actions. It brings a greater amount of responsibility and it sometimes can be tricky for that individual as a few days, months ago he/she was still a teenager depending on their parents or relatives' tips to do things right and the form of correction when they did something wrong were still very soft compared to punishment if they do something wrong as an adult. However, this age is mature enough to identify wrong actions, for example, rape, theft, and violence against another human and understand and undertake its corrections and convictions. For example, if an eighteen years old man decided to rape a woman, he is aware that is wrong and it will have grave consequences, such as going to prison. To conclude, I rather say age comes with responsibility and maturity, so it is crucial to turn the individual independent and aware of the consequences it might come with their actions, for the good and for the bad.