Experts claim that if older people do more exercise they will be healthier and happier. However, many elderly people suffer from a lack of fitness. What are the causes of this and what are some possible solutions?

Professionals state that if elderly people keep a good set of exercises and healthier habits, they will be happier and will have much more health but many older people suffer from a lack of fitness. In my view, what prevents elderly people from a fitness lifestyle is the lack of stimulation coming from their own families and from their health professionals, who are responsible for their care. While we see loads of advertisements promoting a nice lifestyle, with a regular plan of exercise and healthier diets, especially for people under 65 years old, exists a resistance and sometimes a lack of incentive coming from the family of that aged person or even their doctors and nurses, who sometimes only focus on treating a disease and not to control its symptoms with exercises and balanced diet. On the other hand, knowing how to direct a person with certain age and possibly limitations is not an easy task for many professionals, especially for those ones not familiar with their patient's routine and resources. For example, it is not possible to include a subscription to a fancy gym if that elderly person does not hold a great financial situation, maybe it would be more achievable if the professional indicates how and where to have enjoyable walking as an exercise and keep a healthier diet. To conclude, we must take care of our elderly people the same way they took very good care of all of us when we were little, so knowing their limits and helping them with information and good health care is crucial.