Some children spend hours every day on their smartphone. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development.

Nowadays, many kids use most of their pace on digital devices in their day-to-day life. From my viewpoint, its positive impacts cannot overcome the negative impacts. This discourse will discuss why this has become a trend among children and its pros and cons. On the one hand, we cannot deny the fact that mobile phones serve as multifunctional electronic devices and because of this, many children spend more hours playing games, watching videos as well as chatting with their friends. For instance, according to a survey conducted in Lagos Nigeria, 60% of teenagers and toddlers spend time on their phones because they are addicted to cartoons. As a result, they consume a large amount of their moment on cell phones. Although, dives into these have become a nasty behaviour among teenagers despite it useful values. Moreover, most guardians buy Android phones for their offspring because of it educational value. But youngsters waste valuable time streaming videos, gaming and chatting with peers. Even if digital devices help kids to discover information that may improve their academic performances, it may distract them from achieving their academic set goals. As an example, during covid-19 pandemic lockdown, many students attended most of their lectures online and practical classes were held on mobile applications such as Zoom and Telegram. However, some students used such moments to reply to messages from friends while others engaged in downloading movies on YouTube. In conclusion, kids consume more and more hours on mobile phones because of their multifunctionality. However, its positive impacts cannot overcome its negative outcomes.