In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays there is a growing concern about children consuming harmful products and living unhealthy lifestyles. Although governments have a role in encouraging a healthy diet, I would argue that it is parents ' responsibility to monitor children's health. Governments certainly have the authority to influence residents by means of media and propagation. For example, they can stimulate the young generation to shift to a healthy diet through continuous advertisements and programs on TV. Nevertheless, state authorities never impose strict rules on diet, meaning that the ultimate control of the population's health cannot be achieved solely by governments. Therefore, it is crucial that parents set guidelines for their offspring and control whether those are followed. Besides having a substantial influence on offspring, parents are also the closest people to them. Every type of food that a child consumes is a direct output of what parents purchase in markets, hence, they can simply cut down on certain harmful products while shopping. For example, avoiding junky food such as soda drinks, burgers and french fries in shops leads to a decreased consumption of those products by children, eventually. Furthermore, parents should additionally monitor the physical states of their offspring, avoiding weight-related illnesses. For instance, offspring could be signed up for various sports to lose some weight and maintain a healthy body. To conclude, state authorities possess a strong force in influencing the population by means of public announcements, media reports and propagation. However, as long as they do not have the authority of imposing a strict diet, I believe, parents should be in charge of ensuring a healthy diet for their children.