Nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time being active or creative. What is the reason for this? What measures should be taken to encourage children to be more active?

These days, several children spend a substantial amount of time watching television compared to the past. Moreover, they are not familiar with doing outdoor or creative activities. In my opinion, this is largely due to the busy schedules of parents and the availability of various TV content, and can be tackled by both governments and parents. The main reason for this phenomenon is that a majority of today’s parents work hard, having not enough time to look after their children at home. With their hectic schedules, they usually relax on the couch after work or are busy completing delayed household chores. Therefore, they use the screen as a source of ‘babysitting’. This is coupled with a variety of programs that children can access. For instance, OTT services such as Netflix and Disney Plus enabled the young to watch different TV shows including animations, movies, and cartoons. Their development leads children to be addicted and even watch programs for more than 3 hours on average, not giving a chance for them to engage in outdoor activities with their family and friends. However, one of the effective ways to deal with this issue is that the governments can establish a child-care system including after-school classes. If children go there, they can make new friends and join numerous activities such as playing instruments, doing sports, painting and even dancing which will help them foster healthy habits and improve various life skills. However, moms and dads should spare their time after work or on weekends to interact with their children and get away from the screen. For example, they can have some picnics, play catch ball in the park and visit amusement parks for kids to build unforgettable memories. To sum up, it is true that children are exposed to the screen for long hours as busy parents tend to neglect them to watch diverse shows. However, this problem can be resolved by establishing child-care systems in our society and by parents spending more time with their kids.