In future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside this will be passengers. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages.

In the coming days, motor vehicles will be automated leaving only passengers on board. While this seems to promote more safety on roads, the majority of professional chauffeurs will lose their jobs compromising their economic status. Moreover, their driving skills will probably go down the drain. This essay will argue that the upsides of driverless cars outweigh the downsides. On the one hand, the rate of road traffic accidents will be vastly reduced. Normally, human drivers get fatigued after driving long distances predisposing them to careless driving thus causing fatal accidents. Therefore, they need to change shifts in order to adequately rest. For example, in Kenya, the proportion of accidents involving long-distance trucks accounted for 95% in 2023. These drivers majorly drove 1000 kilometres without any breaks or exchanges between drivers. However, following the strict traffic rules enacted but the government during the same year, there was a significant decline in the number of such incidences after ten months. On the other hand, a great number of skilled drivers are most likely to lose their jobs. In addition, their expertise and skills will go to waste since they won't have a platform to showcase their talents. This will not only lead to a loss of income but also will affect their mental status because losing a job is overall stressful.The availability of automated cars in the Netherlands is a classic example. Recently, my aunt visited the city and she was privileged to tour the town in a driverless car. This was an incredible experience for her, as she narrated, because the vehicle only required instructions. In conclusion, in the near future, vehicles will have no drivers but passengers only. This will be beneficial as there will be fewer accidents on the roads even if people will be replaced at their jobs, although this impact will not be as great.