Some people believe that the use of mobile phones in public is annoying as smoking and should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

Uses of mobile phones in public places is disliked by some masses and they opine that it is as intolerable as smoking and therefore should be prohibited. I partially agree with this situation as speaking loudly in public sometimes causes very embarrassing situations however, it should not be strictly banned in consideration of the case of an emergency. To start with, although public use of mobile phones is very common everywhere it has some disadvantages. Public mobile phone use can lead to several unavoidable situations,especially in public transport, hospitals and educational institutions. For example, when people speak loudly on their mobile phone or watch a video with a high sound it sometimes causes sound pollution and hampers the concentration of the surrounding people. To add to it, it is very dangerous for those who are talking on a mobile phone while crossing the road or driving. That type of carelessness causes road accidents and even lifeless. A recent study based on RMIT University illustrates that an average of 20 per cent of road accidents are caused by using mobile phones while driving. On the contrary, the full prohibition of mobile phone use in public places has some drawbacks as well. If mobile phones are prohibited in public places in case of emergency it would be very hard to contact security or any family members. For example, a lot of crime is happening especially in urban areas. Therefore, without a mobile phone contacting with police would be impossible. Moreover, public transport apps are mostly used by people through mobile so commuting would be impossible without the use of mobile phones. For instance, around 67% of people are using mobile phones for transport issues. To conclude, using a mobile phone cannot be totally prohibited like smoking in public places because of its various uses. However, it should be under control to escape unavoidable situations.