some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matter(such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their wishes. other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Many people argue that giving children the freedom to choose their everyday matters will make them become individualists who only care about themselves. It is because they will not have time to examine other people’s needs. However, others believe that this is important to help them become an independent person in the future. According to that reason, I believe that this should be seen as a positive development. To begin with, allowing children to select their matters will make them busy with themselves so that they will not care about the needs of others. Matters like food, fashion and entertainment consist of many varieties. If children are given this task, they will probably spend their entire time thinking about it. As a consequence, they will not be able to share ideas with others. For instance, if children are asked to choose what they want to have for their lunch, they will probably examine all possible options. It makes them become occupied and are not aware of what their friends want to eat. However, this could also boost their confidence and make them become more flexible in the future. It is believed that our brains will work according to our habits. If children are trained to decide what they want, it will make them familiar with the process of making decisions in every circumstance. Therefore, they will be more independent when encountering a situation that needs quick decision-making. According to a current survey conducted by the Indonesian Statistics Bureau, 60% of modern parents in Jakarta are now encouraging their children to choose their own meals and beverages every day. The survey shows that the children who get used to making their own decision could think faster when being asked more difficult questions such as choosing a place for a holiday. In conclusion, society believes that giving permission for children to make their own decision on everyday matters is bad for their personalities due to the lack of care for others. In contrast, I completely agree to let them choose what they want because it has a positive impact such as boosting their confidence and preparing them for more difficult tasks in the future.