Some believe that younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically, mentally and financially unable to look after themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some societies nowadays have lost their sense of responsibility for the well-being of older family members, preferring to leave their elderly relatives in specialised government establishments. While there is a serious concern about whether certain rules should be imposed on young generations to oblige them to look after their parents, I would argue that it is sufficient for this responsibility to remain at the cultural level. On one side, it feels correct that young people should be responsible for supporting their parents and other elderly generations. During their youth, parents put a great effort into providing their children with a good environment in terms of their education, food and healthcare, thus deserving a similar level of care later in life. However, imposing strict rules for the support of older people would break the fundamental concept of democracy. Therefore, countries that create such rules can no longer be counted as democratic. Furthermore, it will also raise an array of nuances. For example, people who were abandoned in childhood could be sued by their biological parents for lack of attention, which makes this rule unfair. Another problem is that such regulations would make supporting elderly people a burden and a chore rather than the result of personal care. In countries where rules oblige people to look after their elderly family members, natural love between children and parents gradually evaporates, becoming a sense of legal obligation. Thus, it is more appropriate for governments to propagate the feeling of responsibility by means of TV programs or other media sources to preserve a healthy relationship between young and older generations rather than by setting rules. In a nutshell, it is true that some moral standards, such as the responsibility to care for elderly people, are fading away from some societies, requiring specific actions to be taken. Nevertheless, I believe such standards should never reach outside the boundaries of culture and become a legal obligation of a citizen.