Some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to apply stronger punishments. Others think that it would be harmful and there are much more efficient ways to do that. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern world, the growing crime rate brings significant dangers to all nations, and its decreasing is one of the most urgent issues. Different people argue whether severe sentences could help solve this problem or not. In my opinion, this is not the only way to deal with this issue; it is complex and requires other actions. It is hard to disagree that giving offenders longer prison sentences is effective to some extent. In fact, when committing such illegal activities, people mostly take into account the consequences they could bring. Thus, even if they can accept the idea of spending several months in prison, years do not seem to them to be a period of life that they are willing to lose. As a result, we could have a lower crime rate by enacting stronger sentences. However, this is not efficient in the case of offenders whose lifestyle is a crime and whose punishment is not essential to them. Alternatively, certain steps could be taken to reduce the causes of crime, which are mainly poverty, unemployment, and a lack of education. Apparently, people who commit crimes often have no other way of making a living. Therefore, it would be efficient to provide more chances for free education for children from poor families and sufficient funding for them. Another point is that offenders who have been mixed with other criminals for a long time can be affected negatively by them. As a consequence, their character will get worse, and they are more likely to re-offend. In conclusion, to reduce the crime rate, long prison sentences should remain for those who commit serious crimes such as murder and rape, while certain steps should be taken to improve the level of education and employment in society in general.