In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

There is a chance that, in the future, all purchases will have to be made by card or phone, eliminating the possibility of using cash as a payment tool. In my opinion, it is an inevitable situation and there will be disgruntled person who prefer cash for a number of reasons. It is an undeniable fact that there is a growing trend towards preference for safer ways of dealing with money. Not only shops but also individuals prefer using electronic payment tools such as mobile wallets or cards to protect themselves from being mugged. Consequently, businesses will cease to accept cash payments so as not to risk holding cash at their premises considering the possibility of theft. Furthermore, since the demand for cash payments by customers will decrease, there will be no need to accept cash. Surely, there are people who will not be pleased about not being able to use cash anymore. Understandably, this is rooted in distrust some individuals have against banks and other financial institutions. Those who have seen banks go bankrupt and lost their confidence, might still prefer holding their money in their own hands to make sure that there is less risk of losing it. Additionally, those who prefer to use cash would not be satisfied with the electronic payment tools when they cannot make payments due to technical difficulties occurring in banking systems from time to time. In conclusion, while the majority of individuals and businesses will turn away from using cash due to its theft risk, there still might be some who are discontent with this change for their own reasons.