Many parents send their children abroad to study. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the phenomenon.

Many parents tend to send their children overseas for higher education. This has become a trend now. There are both advantages and disadvantages to this phenomenon. Many people believe that growing up in a developed country is good for the future of their son or daughter. That is true, as they can spend a luxurious life in many places. The public transport system is developed. Also, they have access to an advanced educational system. Not only that, but also they can spend a comfortable life with good food and facilities. They also can save money and send it back to their parents in their motherland. However, if we discuss the other side of the phenomenon, we can not guarantee that things will go right at all times. Sometimes, they may fail to settle down in these countries. Some individuals are addicted to illegal drugs. A recent newspaper article stated that 23% of the younger generation abroad, mainly in the United Kingdom suffer from depression and anxiety. Once the students settle abroad, some of them forget their culture and traditions. They lose the value of bonds and relationships. Some may forget their families. Many elders have no one to look after them, at the last stage of life. In conclusion, there are both pros and cons of sending students overseas. In my point of view, I think more adverse effects are there, compared to benefits. If the government and relevant authorities planned ahead, I believe we can prevent this. We can make use of the valuable younger generation on our own island.