Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara Desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

In today’s world, offbeat destinations are becoming increasingly popular tourist attractions. Locations like the Sahara desert and Antarctica with extreme weather and landscapes are being frequented by more visitors than ever before. This style of tourism has both benefits and disadvantages, which this essay seeks to explain. On the one hand, places with extreme climate are hard to physically get to. For instance, cruises to Antarctica only operate about 3 months of the year when conditions are favourable. This means that there is only a small window of time for tourists to plan their visit. As a result, tourists need to plan years in advance to ensure they are able to work around their busy schedule for a trip like this. Antarctic or Sahara expeditions are certainly not trips that can be taken at a moment’s notice. Furthermore, due to their extreme climate, tourists visiting such regions need to be very careful about avoiding severe damage to their health from conditions like hypothermia or heat stroke. Lastly, these locations are often located far from the rest of civilization which makes some modern comforts like hotels and food both difficult to find and expensive. Prices of accommodation in remote areas like this can skyrocket due to little market competition. As a result, a trip to such locations can also be cost-prohibitive to many. On the flip side, however, these locations can offer a once-in-a-lifetime experience for individuals who are willing to brave the hurdles described above. Antarctica, for instance, is the only continent that humans have not permanently inhabited yet, and is therefore home to some rare forms of wildlife and ice formations. This makes it a great place to experience nature in a pristine and unadulterated form like nowhere else on the planet. Moreover, with the rising population, most of the traditionally popular tourist sites like Paris, NYC have become immensely crowded during peak season. Visiting locations off-the-beaten-path gives tourists an opportunity to experience the location in a much better and less commercialized way. In conclusion, visiting locations with extreme conditions undoubtedly poses some challenges to tourists. However, working through those challenges can afford a truly magical experience as well.