Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, individuals are spending a huge amount of time in their workplace and giving a lesser duration for relaxation. Whilst there are clearly some benefits to doing so, I personally believe that the drawbacks are more significant as they do not have adequate time for balancing between career and personal life. In fact, working excessive hours has some pros for people. First of all, being workaholic drives towards financial stability. As a consequence, performing job-related tasks longer than usual is not only responsible for earning money but also countable for having a luxurious lifestyle. Furthermore, working efficiency and progress are accelerated as part of high proficiency. In particular, the more hours you work, the more expertise you gain as a professional. Contrastingly, being occupied with a job more than normal period causes several cons such as loneliness, stress and lack of social activities. Since individuals have no time for their families and friends, they will lose their relationships and connection gradually. Consequently, they will experience severe depression. Besides, working overtime can lead to burnout and exhaustion as well. The physical wellness of a person may confront which results to reduce motivation at the workplace. For instance, obesity and diabetes are two main problems among workaholics who have long-hour desk jobs. In a nutshell, more disadvantages are of greater significance than the advantages. Despite the fact of making more money and having high living standards, they will be exhausted and lost all of their meaningful personal life. Given this situation, it is vital to have a work-life balance and to enjoy a proper hour for pastime with the beloved.