People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and ilegal drugs, and at an early age, some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the cause and effects of widespread drug abuse by young people. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

To begin, nowadays young people tend to use both legal and illegal drugs and this has become a huge social problem due to many reasons. Mostly drugs are chemical substances that can induce our brain cells and body functions suddenly. First and foremost, one of the causes could be the age. Young people are at a very fragile age where they tend to experiment and experience new things. While it is a natural behaviour, this may cause damage to their entire lives. Furthermore, some sociologists argue that parents and society should take responsibility as they sometimes set bad examples for the youth. For instance, a child who faces drug abuse from the start of his birth, might eventually end up being an abuser himself. Additionally, this has become a prominent social matter at present. Due to drug abuse, crimes involving youth such as rapes, murders and etc. have also gone up. Instead of attending schools, some are likely to spend the best time of their lives at treatment camps. Moreover, many teens have been diagnosed with sexually transmittable diseases like AIDS. Also, as a result of severe drug abuse, many health issues occur like mental instability, childhood pregnancy and eventually death. However, in order to overcome this problem, regulations and laws on both legal and illegal drugs must be tightened and should be regulated properly. Furthermore, there should be awareness programs for both parents and teens. Also, parents and teachers should pay more attention to their children and guide them accordingly. To conclude, at present widespread drug abuse by youth has become a major social as well as a health problem. Even though, there are many causes and effects of the matter as mentioned above, this can be prevented easily if we start spending more time with our children and understand them properly.