Now-a-days many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

There is a significant splurge in the number of youngsters choosing the path of business rather than being restricted into the shackles of a cubicle and working 9-6 for a company. On top of that, an extensive range of putative and victorious businessmen are supporting these young entrepreneurs and helping them financially by funding their ideas. I believe that this concept comes with both merits and demerits and that one should be cautious when making this decision. It is effortlessly evident that there are many reasons behind this rising trend of startup companies. To commence with, youngsters are finding it arduous to get a job as per their liking and preference. Individuals who wish to work in an acclaimed organisation or get a well-paid job must have high academic qualifications or years of work experience. Such requirements are somehow disqualifying a larger section of job hunters. And then, there are people who desire to get riches in a shorter time period. To exemplify, a business can earn a hefty sum of amount if the idea is unique and targeted to the right type of consumer. If looking at it from a different perspective, there are varying drawbacks as well. First and foremost, being self-employed doesn’t come with a guaranteed comfortable and luxurious life. When working in a company, there is a guaranteed amount that gets credited to the bank account at the end of the month. Another significant disadvantage that cannot be overlooked is that self-employed people, to make their companies successful, work throughout and the day and sometimes late the night as well. This practice not just keeps them away from their friends and family but impacts their overall health as well. Hence, it creates an imbalance in their professional and personal lives. To recapitulate, working independently is surely advantageous for youngsters as it allows them to work on their own terms and conditions. However, there are obvious disadvantages as well that must be considered before entrepreneurship is chosen.