Living in big cities is bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Even though living in metropolitan areas provides plenty of opportunities for each individual to thrive, many still argue that this is also a double-edged sword as it can result in negative effects on the community’s health. In my opinion, I partially agree with this statement for the following reasons presented in this essay. On the one hand, it is understandable why many individuals hold the view that life in urban zones takes its toll on their citizens’ well-being. To begin with, it is the appeal of a modern and sufficient life in big cities that results in overcrowding. This leads to a higher chance of getting pollution problems related to air, water, noise, visual, … in urban zones compared to others. Consequently, people are prone to suffer from several health issues caused by contaminated environments from frequent colds or flu, skin diseases, and respiratory diseases to more severe ones, cancer. Another factor that affects urban dwellers’ well-being is mental health issues like stress or depression. Many people, especially those from the low and middle class, admit that they often get stressed from their competitive and demanding job with long hours of work, consuming the time for severe traffic jams or feeling pressured and depressed to maintain a high living standard in big cities. In the longer term, this can cause detrimental impacts on both the mental and physical conditions of the residents. On the other hand, apart from the obvious disadvantages mentioned above, I also believe that the community's health can benefit from living in megacities. Urban dwellers have better access to high-quality medical services, which is a big difficulty for residents living in small towns or undeveloped remote areas. Hospitals in cities with advanced medical equipment as well as experienced and competent doctors are available to give better treatment to patients. Besides, people who live in urban areas can go to shopping malls or any entertainment facilities to relieve stress at the weekend. This is also an effective way to reduce the severe consequences of current mental issues which sometimes can not be treated by only medicine. In conclusion, I believe that living in a big metropolis can bring about negative effects on dwellers' health, but it also provides beneficial healthcare in some ways.