Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences.Others, however, believe better education in crime is the key. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays some individuals are of the belief that the best reducer of crime rates is giving long-term jail sentences. On the contrary, others might argue that providing a better education for these lawbreakers is the best deterrent. There are valid arguments on both sides which I will discuss in this essay by clearly stating my viewpoint. On the one hand, stating longer prison sentences has its own adverse effects for a number of rationals. Primarily, spending a long lifetime in jail can put many criminals together and they could influence each other negatively which could result in higher crime rates after their freedom. Moreover, the prison itself should be a punishment for serious crimes like serial killers who are a threat to society not minor crimes like passing a red traffic light. From another angle, providing a better education for offenders has plus points. Initially, giving equal learning opportunities for offenders with vocational courses could result in the elimination or reduction of crimes because unemployment is one of the main causes of this phenomenon. More importantly, former criminals can continue their normal life by learning job skills and overcoming the obstacle of getting an occupation for a person with a criminal record in society. In conclusion, From my perspective, I tend to agree with better education is a key solution to decreasing law offenders since they come up with a more robust argument but it should not be forgotten that prison sentences can act as the best deterrent for hideous crimes.