Some people say free time activities for children should be organized by parents. Others say that children should be free to choose what they do in their free time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are various entertainments for young people to spend their leisure time nowadays, while some suggest that children should be able to arrange their free time, I am personally in favour of letting parents plan leisure activities for their descendants. On the one hand, the proponents argue that incremental options of entertainment derived from modern technologies are not familiar to elderly people. Therefore, allowing young individuals to arrange their free time activities is essential for the perks of self-improvement. For example, playing online games is considered a waste of time by many adults, however, it helps youth to cultivate the capacity of finding solutions individually in order to have a good performance in games. On the other hand, I tend to agree that parents have the obligation to arrange leisure time for their children. First of all, some leisure activities require systemic training, including playing instruments and playing sports, which helps them to foster their talents. For instance, one of the well-known pianoists Ma Yo-yo began the acquisition of skills at a young age to have such outstanding performance. Secondly, timetables planned by parents could not only deter youth from procrastination, since they need to follow the schedule as requested. Many educational institutions nowadays provide various curriculums after class to help young people form a long-term interest. To summarise, it is true that the freedom of children to arrange entertainment activities by themselves could expand the possibilities for them to gain the latest information and form a new hobby. However, the value of parents providing necessary assistance to help their descendants to build up capacities based on their interests should not be overlooked.