Write about the following topic: Some people believe that it is important to spend a lot of money on family celebrations. While others think it is a waste of money. Discuss both views. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

To begin, nowadays some people believe that it is important and essential to spend a lot of money on family celebrations whereas, others look at it as a method of wasting money. According to my point of view, I think that there's no right or wrong here as it is a personal preference. First and foremost, some may find that, it is necessary to celebrate family occasions in a grand manner to please and surprise their loved ones. Also, they use these activities as a way of showing their love and gratitude towards them. For instance, although I am not a very good fan of celebrations, I threw a surprise party for my mom on her 60th birthday with our relatives and she was over the moon and enjoyed it really well. So, we cannot actually put a price tag on their happiness and smile. Furthermore, such gatherings can be considered as a perfect place to meet close friends and relatives to share our special moments. However, Some people look at these grand celebrations as a waste of money. They believe it is not necessary to spend a lot on short-term enjoyment. For example, some may find it is better to give meals or money to the poor or differently-abled people in order to celebrate important milestones of their lives. Moreover, some prefer to celebrate such occasions by investing in the future. For instance, opening a new savings account for your spouse or child or enrolling your parents in health or life insurance which I believe is also interesting and necessary. To conclude, even though some prefer to throw big parties to celebrate important moments, others may look at this as a waste of money due to the numerous reasons mentioned earlier. I strongly believe that both ways of celebrating special moments are equally important and necessary to make your family happy.